Local School Council
2018-2018 SCHOOL YEAR

All meetings are held on the third Wednesday (exceptions are noted by *) of each month in the school library at 6pm. Please note earlier start time this year!

August 15, 2018
September 19, 2018
October 17, 2018
November 28, 2018 *
December 19, 2018
January 16, 2019
February 20, 2019
March 20, 2019
April 24, 2019 *
May 15, 2019
June 19, 2019

In 1988, the Illinois State General Assembly passed PA85-1418 to reform the Chicago Public Schools. Each school has a Local School Council comprised of the principal, two certified teachers, six parents of students currently attending the school, and two community residents. The Council also has a non-voting student representative who is elected by the student body. The council members were elected for the first time on October 12, 1989. The Local School Council organizes succeeding elections in odd numbered years.

The Local School Council has the power to evaluate the performance of the principal; approve the principal's contract; select a new principal in the event of a vacancy or non renewed contract; and approve the expenditure plan and the improvement plan developed by the principal. The council must abide by the provisions of the Open Meetings Act and the Freedom of Information Act as well as all other applicable laws, court orders, funding restrictions, etc. A schedule of council meetings and a file of council minutes is available in the Main Office as well as below.


Sharon Brown, Parent (Vice-Chairperson)
John Cleggett, Parent
Autumn Loyd, Parent
Michelle Malone, Parent
Carisa Parker, Parent (Chairperson)
Lorena Tucker, Parent
Kayla Williams, Student
Angela Gipson, Teacher
Keith Majeske, Teacher
Kathleen Jackson-Bey, Non-Teaching Staff
Peggy Goddard, Community (Secretary)
Margaret LaRaviere, Community
Femi Skanes, Principal